FR | NL | EN
   About us     Contact     Glossary index     Sitemap   

   Home > ISO 20000 - IT Service Management

ISO 20000 - IT Service Management     Print

ISO/IEC 20000 is the international standard for IT Service Management, published in December 2005, and based on the British Standard, BS 15000. It comprises two parts: a specification for IT Service Management and a code of practice for service management.

ISO/IEC 20000 Part 1 : Specificiation for Service Management

ISO 20000-1 promotes the adoption of an integrated process approach to effectively deliver managed services to meet the business and customer requirements". It comprises ten sections:

  • Scope
  • Terms & Definitions
  • Planning and Implementing
  • Service Management Requirements for a Management System
  • Planning & Implementing New or Changed Services
  • Service Delivery Processes
  • Relationship Processes
  • Control Processes
  • Resolution Processes
  • Release Process.

ISO/IEC 20000 Part 2 : Code of Practice for Service Management

ISO 20000-2 is a 'code of practice', and describes the best practices for service management within the scope of ISO 20000-1. It comprises the same sections as 'part 1' but excludes the 'Requirements for a Management system' as no requirements are imposed by 'part 2'.

ISO 20000 was developed to reflect best practice guidance contained within the Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) framework, although it equally supports other IT Service Management frameworks and approaches including Microsoft Operations Framework and components of ISACA's CobiT framework.

Source: International Organization for Standardization (ISO) 




QAP © 2010 | advice[at] | audit[at]
   Audit     Advisory     Training     Change     Disclaimer     Copyright