FR | NL | EN
   Qui sommes nous?     Contact     Glossary index     Carte du site   

   Home > Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL)

Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL)     Print

ITILThe IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL®) is one of the most widely accepted approach to IT service management in the world. ITIL provides a comprehensive and consistent set of good practices for IT service management, promoting a quality approach to achieving business effectiveness and efficiency in the use of information systems.

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) was created by the UK Government (OGC). The foundation for IT service management (ITSM) is a set of management processes that provide guidance and best practices on managing assets, bugs, changes, disasters, efficiency, and finances.

ITIL V3 focuses on the service lifecycle, which consists of 5 phases:

  1. Service strategy
  2. Service design
  3. Service transition
  4. Service operation
  5. Continual service improvement

Service Strategy (SS)

Covers the strategic planning of service management capabilities and the alignment of service and business strategies. Furthermore, it provides guidance on value creation, market and offerings strategies, structure of services, types of service providers, organisational development, sourcing, and financial management.

It outlines four key processes:

  • demand management,
  • strategy generation,
  • service portfolio management and
  • IT financial management.

Service Design (SD)

Outlines the design and development of services and service management processes. Processes covered are service catalogue management, service-level management, capacity and availability management, IT service continuity management, information security management, and supplier management. It identifies availability management, capacity management, continuity management and security management as key elements used in the design of the services to be provided.

Service Transition (ST)

Illustrates how the requirements of previous stages (strategy and design) are realised and how capabilities for the ongoing delivery of a service can be maintained. The processes covered are transition planning and support, change management, service asset and configuration management, release and deployment management, service validation and testing, and evaluation and knowledge management.

Service Operation (SO)

Covers the effective and efficient delivery and support of services, and provides a benchmarked approach for event management, incident management, request fulfillment, problem management and access management. It also provides references to operational activities in other processes.

Continual Service Improvement (CSI)

Covers ongoing improvement of the service and the measurement of process performance required for the service. There are three key areas: service measurement, service reporting and service improvement. The principles of CSI are covered in a seven-step improvement process.

QAP © 2010 | advice[at] | audit[at]
   Audit     Conseil     Formations     Changement     Disclaimer     Copyright